Skip to content

I AM OPPRESSED

November 30, 2010

I was oppressed
and you gave me a training program

I was oppressed
and you said you were depressed

I was oppressed
and you called a meeting

I was oppressed
and you planned without consulting me

I was oppressed
and you said I should be better organized

I was oppressed
and you wanted to teach me English

I was oppressed
and you treated me as a child

I was oppressed
and you said an economic boycott was to difficult

I was oppressed
and  you were afraid of your military leaders

I was oppressed
and you needed to buy a new car

I was oppressed
and you just did not care

I was oppressed
and….I am still oppressed

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paddy Noble permalink
    November 30, 2010 7:00 pm

    Max I like this poem. It really speaks a lot of things I have and admittedly I’ve been on the side of the oppressor too. This reminds me of how important it is to be amidst the grassroots people. learning from them and trying to see the reality from their perspective. I’m reminded of this back home and also in Asia. I’ve learn so much from the grassroots people.

Leave a Reply

