Skip to content

WHERE I STAND

November 8, 2010

If the dreams of the wealthy
Become my dreams
If my wants become larger
Than the needs of the majority
If my status and fame become more important
Than the happiness of all society
If my profits
Destroy the words of the prophets
I will protect the status quo!

If the comfort of the middle class
Becomes my comfort
If my leisure time is more important
Than service to the oppressed
If sympathy is easier for me
Than empathy for the marginalized
If my standing point
Has many options
I will try to climb the ladder to the top!

If the hunger pangs of the starving
Become my hunger pangs
If the terror of the tortured
Becomes my terror
If the fear of the IDPs
Becomes my fear
If the anger of the oppressed
Becomes my anger
If the desperately poor rise up to march
And I march with them
Then I will struggle with the marginalized for true transformation!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paddy Noble permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:00 pm

    max this is a powerful poem. it means a lot to many of us

Leave a Reply

