Skip to content

Children can learn from books

July 5, 2010

I am now over 60, but I still remember many of the books I read as a child.  These books were important to me and if they stirred my soul, I read them over and over again.  I also remember some of the stories my mother read to me at bedtime when I was still too young to do much reading on my own.  The stories sparked my imagination in ways no TV show and computer game can today.  As I read or heard the stories, images sprang to life in my mind and I watch the story unfold through my young, uncluttered imagination. 

This is what good stories are designed to do.  They wake up our imagination and help us dream.  We can become, through the story, a different person, an animal or a place.  We float through the air, swim under the ocean or experience life as it was thousands of years ago. 

Yes, book are important and it is crucial that we find good books for children that can help them develop a positive view of life and a vision for what they want to become that will strengthen their faith in God.

Christmas is a time to share some of these wonderful stories with children.  Sitting before a warming fireplace, or while covered with a warm blanket, the story will bring alive the true meaning of Christmas.  It can help children think less about what they want to get for Christmas, and more about what they have received from the very first Christmas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 1:56 pm

    Max, yes I remember the books too that I read as a child, many of us grew up on them. I also remember every Sunday morning at 6am my mother would wake us up to listen to the stories being told on the radio our favorite was Bad Jelly the Witch by Ronald Dhal. Anyway the stories did stir the imagination of places far away. Where people were simple but happy. I remember a story I read about a boy and his hippopotamus. They would walk into the high reeds of the swamp overlooking a vast landscape. I also remember my favorite Maori story ‘Hatu Patu and the Bird Woman’ about a young boy who escaped the clutches of the Birdwoman and won the respect of his community. I think we should keep encouraging children to read and for parents to read to their children. It makes an impact when we grow older.

Leave a Reply

